I took my trip to Yale this weekend. I must say I was very proud of myself when I walked in. I immediately went to the 3rd floor to see all the Modern Art. This style is my favorite so far. I was excited when I saw a pieces by James Rosenquist and Chuck Close. I felt as though, I was finally "getting it". That was until a heard a soft voice say to me, "excuse me miss, you can not take pictures on the 4th floor. Just the other three levels". Opps. Down to the 1st floor.
I saw this great Picasso that I wanted to take a few shots of. Then. "Excuse me miss, no photography on this floor." Feeling foolish for not realizing that these exhibitions didn't belong to the museum, I took out my pen and notebook and started to take some notes. Then. "Excuse me miss, you can not take notes with pen in here, let me get you a pencil". I can only sit here and laugh! Not only am I learning about Art but I am slowly but surely learning museum etiquette.
This week I am posting a photo album of the two Edward Hopper pieces I really liked. I chose these two because I really liked the "lights and shadows" work I did in Photography class, and they are truly inspiring.
Front Entrance
Edward Hopper's Sunlight in a Cafe. 1958 Oil on Canvas
Details of the sunlight on the window sill.
Edward Hopper's Rooms by the Sea. 1951 Oil on Canvas.
Closer detail of the sunlight shinning through.
Light on the back wall implying there possibly a window in another room.

5 comments:
Your comments reminded me that I used to post a bit about museum etiquette!
Nice choice with your Hoppers. Making the connection with your work in photography is brilliant!
Jess,
I was impressed with this piece also. It was so peaceful and calm. Makes me want to buy a house boat.
Sounds like that was a fun trip! We are going there tomorrow. Why weren't you able to write with a pen and needed a pencil?
I have to learn museum etiquette too. :)
Its the rules...that aren't posted anywhere. I guess it's just something you learn. I think it is so funny that everytime I go to another museum I start to think I am "fitting" in, then something else gets me! LOL
Its cool though, I will be a museum-ista when I am done with this mod!
Museum-ista! That makes me smile.
Post a Comment